• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A TR3 Steering Wander

CJD

Yoda
Country flag
The weather here finally broke, so got to take the TR out for its first substantial road trip. Runs great! Just had a quick question, since I have no experience with a "running" car!

Is drifting a normal TR3 thing with the stock steering box? It tends to follow any irregularities in the road surface when travelling straight. Not bad, but not the rock steady feeling we are used to with modern cars. On curves it doesn't wander at all.

Since there is no castor in the suspension, I would guess this is just something to expect...right? Or am I missing an adjustment (like, say, a rack and pinion conversion!?!)

Thanks,

John

_DSC7321.jpg

_DSC7324.jpg

TR4nut

Yoda
Country flag
Well I'm not experienced yet with how a 3A drives long term, but with the 0 degrees castor you aren't going to have centering tendencies. Not sure if that is your main issue, I guess some wear and tear in the steering box could make handling a little vague as well. Before you do the rack and pinion though, one bolt on change would be to go with a TR4 style setup with 3 degrees castor - different trunnions, ball joints and upper arms but that's pretty much it - and it should track more like what you are used to. Anyway just a thought, that's what I've put on at the moment on my 3A project.

D

Deleted member 8987

I'd check the toe....and, just a question, but are you running bias or radial ply tyres?

Geo Hahn

Yoda
Country flag
CJD said:
...Is drifting a normal TR3 thing with the stock steering box? It tends to follow any irregularities in the road surface when travelling straight.