• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Speakers

TRMark

Jedi Knight
Bronze
Country flag
I decided to put a radio in the TR4. So I ordered a dash support from Joe Alexander to hack up, don't want to chop up the original. I don't understand the 4 ohm, 8 ohm thing about speakers. Seems that auto speakers are 4 ohm and the ones on my home systems are 8. What is that all about and what happens if I use for instance a 4 ohm on my home system or an 8 ohm with the car radio?

R6MGS

Yoda
I was wondering the same thing....I gotta do speakers in the 6 sometime soon as well.

D

DougF

I'm not an electrician, but my guess is the power source. A home system would need a higher resistance than a car unit.
The car speaker in a home system would work until you gave it some juice. The home system would work in the car but probably not efficiently. They probably wouldn't leave a lot of seating space once installed.

mrv8q

Luke Skywalker
Country flag
It's (a little) harder to drive a 4 ohm load, as oppossed to a 8 ohm load. (You're asking the amplifier for more current output). The 4 ohm speaker will play louder than the 8 ohm speaker though. Many British home speakers are rated at 6 ohms. The resistance is not equal at all frequencies, hence 4 or 8 is a close appoximation. What you don't want to get is too low; ie, 2 ohms.... most are either 4 or 8. ISTR Bose car audio speaker are 1 ohm, which is why they have special amps built in to the speaker, (and why most of them eventually fail).

R6MGS

Yoda
What do most people run in their LBC's? I no absolutely nothing about stereos.

D

DougF