• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Crackle from speakers

RobWarren

Jedi Hopeful
Situation:

Kenwood CD player was vandalised and broken.
Replacement Pioneer unit is installed but there's a crackle when ignition is on.

From the searches I've done this appears to be coming from outputs at the Dizzy and Alternator, possibly the spark plugs too, thanks to having wires instead of modern carbon connectors.

However, the Kenwood stereo worked just fine. I even intercepted the power lead on the new one and put in the capacitor from the Kenwood (on a mate's advice) but that failed to have any effect.

Is this simply a capacitor issue? I'm no electrician so I'm not entirely sure of the concepts involved here. Would a cpacitor be required at each of the offending units? I don't want to have to change all the wires out unless I have to.

Advice appreciated.

Bob

R

RonMacPherson

Okay, see if disconnecting the alternator for a short time while you operate the stereo(usually got more static on am, but that was decades ago). If so you can install a capacitor there. If not, and you suspect ignition, capacitors strenght can be upsized (to go on the coil). Plus make sure you have good ground to the stereo and complete speaker circuits(which should include ground back to the stereo). Try switching positions on offending speakers, + to - temporarily, see if that has any affect.

healeynut

Jedi Knight
Country flag
Radio Shack sells a stereo power lead filter for stereos which seems to really helps with this problem...

GregW

Yoda
Platinum
Country flag
Hi Bob,
Are the spark plugs you have in now resistor type? If not, that would be the first thing I'd try. FWIW

OP
R

RobWarren