• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Where would I start to get a little more HP.

D

dbshubin

Hi everyone, I'm new to BCF.
I have a '79 MG Midget that is for the most part stock. I was wanting to know where would I start first to get a bit more skip in my step.
1) better intake
2) headers
3) carbs and which one ( down draft / side draft / two barrel )
4) nice paint job ( that would make it go faster 0-60 )
I would very much love any input you might give me. I just don't have a clue where to start.

Country flag
So... bolt on without changing engine internals? I'd guess a header with dual SU carbs.

jlaird

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
LOL, alum head.

OP
D

dbshubin

Thanks for your input. That's kind of what I had in mind.

Any ideas of where I would look besides Moss or LBCCo.? Those are the only ones that I know of. I'm sure you know heaps of places off the beaten path. Or is Moss the best place to get items?

dbshubin

Cam-headers and twin SU

British parts northwest is pretty good to deal with.

m

OP
G

If you're daring, MS is supposed to give great results. ( Mega Squirt)

OP
D

dbshubin

What does MS do? Or better put how does it work and does anyone ( the average person ) even use it?
David

OP
D

dbshubin