• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Newbie SU Carb Rebuild & Restoration Question

TEXAS_TR3A

Country flag
Howdy! I'm new to this great forum, and would greatly appreciate any guidance from you guys on the best place to send my SU carbs to be rebuilt & restored. Been lurking here for a while and am now digging into the TR3A one project at a time. The journey begins.....

I just received the carb overhaul kit, rebuild DVD, tools, Grose jets, etc. from Moss, with the intention of doing the rebuild myself, but then ran across the link below and boy do those SU's look nice! Wondering if I should just send them off and have it done professionally... I could probably make my way through the rebuild, having never done one, but don't have the setup to do the cleaning and restoration of the exterior to make them look anything like those. Has anyone used the outfit below, or Apple Hydraulics? Any other recommendations?

https://www.sucarbs.com/restoration.html

Thanks in advance for the help!

kodanja

Obi Wan
Country flag
Welcome to the insanity, I mean the BCF!

Im not the one to ask that question,
but Im sure there are many people here with the expertise to help ya out.

again welcome!! :yesnod:

TR4nut

Yoda
Country flag
Hey, welcome Tex - you a part of the Houston Club?

Don't know that vendor, but I've seen that work on ebay for maybe the last 6 months or so. Looks pretty good.

Randy

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
Just my $.02 ... do them yourself. It's not that hard; and you'll get a much better sense of accomplishment that way, than paying someone else to do it.