• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Compressor plumbing and accessories

Bainesy

Hi All,

I've got a two-stage, 60 gallon, 5 hp compressor, which I'll be using for air tools, sandblasting and painting. I'm new to this hobby, and from what I've read water and other contaminants can ruin your tools, cause your sandblaster to clog and no end of problems laying down paint.

My current plan is to run some air line (black pipe or copper, the relative coolness of which which I understand will cause some of the moisture in the air to condense and be able to be removed at an appropriately-located drain) up the wall from the corner where the compressor is located, into the attic and back out the ceiling in the centre of the shop where I'll mount a retractable 50' reel of 3/8 PVC hose. I don't need individual hookups all over the shop (I find using a retractable extension cord that I've similarly mounted near the centre of the ceiling to be very convenient. I plug into that more often than any wall outlets). I'm not sure what diameter pipe to use. 1/4"? 1/2"?

I also plan on putting a desiccant filter and a coalescing filter in between the pipe and PVC hose. I've seen some with 3/8 fittings and others with 1/4. SCFM ratings also vary. I'm not sure what will work best for the intended uses.