• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR6 waterless coolant

steve123

Freshman Member
Hi Guy's

has anyone had any experience with waterless coolant, is it any good ? I live in Australia and the TR6 runs pretty hot in the summer, be interested in any comments

toysrrus

Yoda
Hi Steve,

"Waterless Coolant"?? Whats that????????????????

Russ

martx-5

Yoda
Country flag
Here in the states most guys running waterless are using Evans.

https://www.evanscooling.com/

I have no experience with the stuff, but from what I've read, the reviews are mixed. It's supposed to be permanent and very good at fighting corrosion. It's boiling point is very high, but it's ability to absorb heat is less then water or a 50/50 glycol mix.

Sorry i can't offer any direct info concerning the stuff, but it is intriguing.

dklawson

Yoda
I know that the guys on Wheeler Dealers filled the cooling system of their project TR6 with Evans Coolant. Of course, they don't keep cars for long so they never provide follow-up data on it.

When I was at VIR last month I notice that the pro shop there was selling Evans Coolant and the prep chemicals to clean and dry the cooling system. I was there for other parts so didn't have a long discussion with them about it. When I inquired they sort of shrugged it off and said that they have had no complaints back from people who tried it.