• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Need help adjusting valves

vping

Yoda
Bronze
Country flag
I have the both Bentley and Haynes and unless I am missing something, they are not very detailed in how to adjust the valves.
To be honest I have never done this before and would rather hear is from the "pros" than guess at it.
I understand the process but do not know where to begin. Where is #1 and how do I know if the #8 valve is 100% open and not 99% open?

DrEntropy

Great Pumpkin
Platinum
Country flag
Practice and observation... It's really "intuitive": #1 is the first from the front. Pull the plugs out and you can turn it (the engine) by hand. Use a SIX point box-end wrench (1/2") for the locknuts on the adjusters, go thru the entire eight in sequence, twice. I use a small chalk mark on the rocker to tell me it's been "done". When there are eight rockers marked, it's a wrap. You'll get so good at this it'll take you fifteen minutes the third time you do it. On the first go, play around with it: as long as you've got the clearances at a minimum of .015" you aren't gonna hurt a thing. It's another chance to "Be One with the Horse."
/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cheers.gif

rimzimmer

There are several ways of adjusting the tappets;
1)The rule of 9
2)When the cylinders are rocking eg: when cylinder 1 is rocking adjust both tappets on number 4 cylinder, the easiest way to do this is to write the firing order on your hand like this 1 3
4 2
when 3 is rocking do 2 etc.

With the valve opening when #1 valve is open (to what you see the be fully open) # 8 will be right on the back of the cam lobe so total acturcy is not needed.

goloch