• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Copper Brake Lines?

RomanH

Jedi Knight
I have been told by people more knowlegable than myself to never use pure copper tubing for brake lines! The copper is too soft and can not handle the pressure required for proper braking. The copper will expand under high pressure then return to normal when the pressure is removed. This cycling will fatigue the lines and they will fail!
The "copper" brake pipe sets I have seen is an alloy and not pure copper.
I have no experience with them. Maybe someone else has used them.

Keoke

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
That is correct RAH63, the current "copper" brake lines sold by the usual suspects are closer to brass than they are to pure copper. ---Keoke

Country flag
Here in the UK the cheapest ones are made of copper, and it seems to be used fairly widely. However, its considered not so good as copper-nickel alloy lines, generally known as "Kunifer" and these can be bought pre-cut or as rolls of tubing. Oddly enough, Bundy tubing which I understand is common or required in the USA, is unknown for these applications here, thugh it can be bought from industrial supllies outlets.

G

The brake pipe set I bought from Moss seems to be the copper alloy with the brass fittings. Went in nicely, the tubing is easy to hand bend to get the proper fit, no need for a tubing bender. I replaced every line in the car with the complete set from Moss. Haven't had any problems with it whatsoever in the 4 years they've been on the car.

aeronca65t

Great Pumpkin
I think we had this discussion some time ago.