• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Frustration time ARRRRGH

Tinkerman

Darth Vader
I just found out that the round hole in my re-cored radiator, for my TR 3A, is off enough that I cannot use my crank to turn the engine. The bottom of the hole is off about 1/2 inch. Get it fix or forget about it? I'm not even sure they can fix it. The radiator is mounted but the front clip is not on at this point.
Wot to do? Wot to do?

Tinkerman the frustrated!

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
A good radiator shop can definitely make the hole larger.

But I've been running radiators without a hole since around 1999, and I can honestly say that I've never missed it. I have absolutely no interest in trying to start the motor by hand (and risk broken fingers, etc); and for setting valves I find it easier to just put the gearbox in 4th and roll the car a bit. Or just use the electric starter.

G

If you try to start one with the crank and it kicks back,you'll forget about it real quick.

D

DougF

Did you ever use the crank before? In addition to broken fingers, you also risk damaging the grill. AAA is a better option.

Geo Hahn

Yoda
Country flag
Mercy -- maybe I've been lucky or maybe I've been careful but in 30+ years of using the crank to start the engine I have never had a problem, a close call or even the hint of the thing kicking back, etc.

As Randall notes, they can may the hole larger -- specifically, taller which I think does not affect the cooling as you have already given up those central rows.

I recently had a similar outcome though in my case shimming the engine up 3/16" was the solution. I didn't like that much but a half inch would be out of the question.

TR3driver