• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR6 Can't seem to bleed TR6 brakes

zmayne

Hey all,
I wanted to know if anyone had any special techniques they could share to bleed TR6 brakes. I have a new master cylinder/reservoir, rebuilt front calipers and braided steel brake lines (and recent pads and drilled rotors). I get a strong stream of brake fluid out of the calipers, but keep on getting air bubbles. We are bleeding from the left front, to the right, then the right rear to the left rear. I can't seem to bleed them to get a nice, hard pedal. The pedal feels very soft until you pump the brakes, and then travel is still about half way down the full pedal travel. The car stops, but the brakes are not very confidence inspiring. I also can hear a slight "puffing" (for lack of a better word) from the brake booster or that area. Anyone know what a bad brake booster feels like? Could that even be the problem? Help!!
Thanks,
Zach

PeterK

Yoda
Usually it's best to bleed the farthest brake first i.e the right rear, then work your way forward. Some bench bleed the TR6 m/c berfore installing it.

Gliderman8

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
Are you continuing to monitor the fluid resivoir and add additional fluid as needed?
If you let it run out, you will get more air in the lines.
And yes... I am in agreement... start at the RR wheel, the one FARTHEST away.

Andrew Mace

Staff member
Country flag