• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Walnut panel replacement

Bronson

Freshman Member
Hi Guys, another newbie question. I just purchased a very, very clean 79 Spitfire.I have been driving it and really love it. My question is cosmetic. The original walnut veneer dash panel is splitting and de-laminating. I see replacement panels in the catalogues for around $300. I am wondering what is entailed in removing and replacing that (those 3) panel(s). since the car is otherwise very clean and drivable, is this a project that would require major dis-assemble , and extended down time? I am a retired aviation mechanic, so I am not easily deterred, but I also dont want to open a can of (Lucas?) worms. Thanks!

I should mention that I have two shop manuals, and have studied the instrumentation, and wiring involved, what I need to know is the "hidden" items I may encounter.

TR4nut

Yoda
Country flag
Its been a very long time since I owned a Spitfire, but other than needing to get your hands behind the dash for some delicate work I don't remember any specific trouble areas. Its not super easy though, any time you have to squeeze under there to remove gauges etc.

OP
B

Bronson

Freshman Member
TR4nut said:
Its been a very long time since I owned a Spitfire, but other than needing to get your hands behind the dash for some delicate work I don't remember any specific trouble areas. Its not super easy though, any time you have to squeeze under there to remove gauges etc.

Thanks, I bet this fat guy will need to remove the seats, before anything else!

JodyFKerr

Jedi Knight