• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Oil Pressure Gauge Questions.....

NardisCNC

My stock oil pressure gauge in my '66 midget has a splice/brass coupler in the line running from the engine to the gauge that has developed a small dripping leak and is making a mess.

Is there an alternative method of measuring pressure in a 1098/1275? Perhaps a pressure sensor that connects to the gauge electronically? Where would a person find such parts if so? What are quality brands to look for in gauges? I don't care about originality as much as I do form and function.

I am a novice so please excuse me if any of this sounds ignorant.

bug_sixty

Jedi Warrior
Country flag
first ingnorance is necessary to be on this site... sooo your in the club.... that aside your starting off with trying to reinvent the wheel... Just get the same item used.. It isn't something that goes sideways every few thousand miles.. There are other thing that have a tendency to do that... haha

Country flag
All the cars had a "splice" to prevent vibrations from work hardening the copper line. If you repair it then it should be good for another 75,000 miles or 20 years.

OP
NardisCNC

NardisCNC

Ok, great! Now, my car currently has a plastic oil pressure line.... should I repair it using a plastic / nylon line or is there any advantage / disadvantage to fitting a new copper line?

Country flag
Oh, I misunderstood. I thought you had a the original copper line that someone installed a coupler rather that the rubber flex line.
In my sprite I have a black nylon tube that was supplied with my aftermarket gauges. It has a much thicker wall than the stuff supplied at the big box auto parts store.

dklawson

Yoda