• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR4/4A Front Brakes - Basics for Pads

scottkilpatrick

Freshman Member
Country flag
Hi All, I am doing a full brake inspection on my new 62 TR4 as I don't know when they were last done prior to buying and they feel odd. So front brakes first and I am a newbie with brakes.

It appears these are newer calipers and there is NO leaking from the flex lines but I am probably gonna replace them with steel ones while I have the wheel off.

Question: I was gonna swap out the pads but to me they look like they still have a lot of meat left...appears about 3/8" thickness. Can you tell usually if they have sufficient life left by looking or do you need to pull off the caliper and pull them out? Opinions. Pics below of passenger side and drivers side.

Also I thought wheel cylinders were for all wheels but I think they are only on the rear. Can someone confirm? Thanks Everyone

passenger.JPG
driver.JPG

charleyf

Luke Skywalker
Country flag
I agree that the calipers appear to be at least restored. The pads look to be really close to original thickness. What you see on the front is all that should be there. A close look at the condition of the rubber boots would verify if the restoration is recent. Older rubber boots would be dirty and maybe even cracked.