• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

What to do about my wire wheels

ChrisR

Freshman Member
Hi folks - I've been a member here for ten years but haven't actually posted anything so hope I'm not breaking a rule somewhere.

I have an Austin Healey Sprite that I've been driving around for ten years and have decided to embark on moving it from "barely drivable" status to something a bit more acceptable. One rather obvious aspect of this is the wheels. They are wire wheels that were painted white some time in the past, presumably to hide the gruesome amounts of rust that had accrued.

2019-08-20 11.05.35.jpg

Does anyone have any idea of what my best approach is to making these shiny again? I have a funny feeling the answer is going to be "throw them away and buy some new ones" but I'd rather be told that now than a few weeks down the line when my kitchen table is covered in lovingly paint-stripped but entirely un-savable spokes. :smile:

Chris

NutmegCT

Great Pumpkin
Gold
Hi Chris - first thing I'd do is decide if the wheels are actually worth saving. Bent, out of round, cracked, wobbling, etc. If you just drive around the block, might not matter. But road driving - you want the wheels in good condition - and some wheel issues can't be fixed.

Tom M.

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P