• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A TR3 engine build

jdavis

Country flag
actually the motor is from an early 4A. I have a couple motors to choose from for my 59 TR3A project, but the 4A engine turns easily and is complete. I've never done a wet liner engine before. I've built a couple of TR6 engines and a couple of small block Chevy motors over the years, and mostly, they held together. I've dismantled the engine, and am in the process of ordering some parts. The main pins looks like it is .20 thou under, and the crank pins are 10 thou under. I'm going to take the crank to a machine shop and see how out of round it might be before I order bearings. One of the con rods is obviously slightly bent. The corresponding cam lobe is a bit pitted, although the lifter looks fine. I've got another set of straight con rods I can use. Otherwise, I think I have a good pIatform from which to start, I've read a lot about these engines, and I'm confident I can build a good reliable engine. I'll have lots of questions from those of you who are willing to offer advice. The car is just for fun. I have no aspirations to do anything with it other than play with it. I know I need all the major internals including a new piston/liner set and cam. My question for the day is: If money is no object (of course it