• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR6 Potential TR6 Owner

fwtexasbj8

Country flag
Hi All,
I already have a '65 Healey, but now my wife has decided she wants a TR6 as an "every day car" around town. I know that is not really practical, but... I have very little knowledge or experience with thema dn am looking at one for Christmas. Can anyone tell me the major things I need to watch out for? I am keenly aware any English car will have its own oddities, but waht are the real tough ones on the TR6?

Thanks in advance!
Doug

kodanja

Obi Wan
Country flag
Its really a nuts and bolts type of car.

Just some of the problem areas to watch out for...

U-Joints
Suspension
Watch out for frame rust
many of the rubber fittings may need to be replaced
some carbs are touchy

overall the Tr6 is a strong running car

good luck!!~

BryanC

Jedi Hopeful
Others will add to the list but start by looking out for:

1) rust in the frame where the trailing arms attach. The area is prone to rust and difficult to repair without taking the body off.

2) missing thrust washer in engine - gives lots of end play and can ruin a crank / block. Thrust washer design leaves a bit to be desired and when worn, they can fall out. Check crank end play.