• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Clutch bleeding problems

Sportsdoc

Jedi Trainee
Having trouble getting the slave cylinder to work. I have a rebuilt master, new slave cylinder, new clutch line. Brakes bled fine, but I bleed the slave cylinder and cannot get the arm to move. No leaks.

Any help appreciated.

Country flag
Did you try keeping the pushrod pushed back into the slave while bleeding?

bailee2

Jedi Hopeful
Another way to bleed a really stubborn clutch is to wire the clevis to the rear of the clutch mount or hold the arm with the piston at rest which does not allow the piston to stroke.

Then attach a clear plastic bleeder line to the clutch slave bleeder port and bring it up to the clutch master cylinder and stick it in the reservoir. Tape or hold it in place.

Open the slave bleed port.

Slowly actuate the clutch pedal until all air is removed in the clear bleeder line.

Close the bleeder, remove the clutch wire or hold back.

When removing the clear line from the reservoir plug it and get it back under the car before removing the other end to prevent paint damage.

Actuate the clutch pedal and it should work. If not you could possibly be in the wrong clutch arm hole or a pin is sheared on transmission fork shaft.

It is also possible that a crankshaft shim has worked its way out and too much crankshaft end play is taking up the clutch stroke.

Arlie
/bcforum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/cheers.gif

OP
S

Sportsdoc

Jedi Trainee
No, I have the pushrod connected to the clutch arm with the clevis pin installed. It looks like I have bled it properly but the pedal won't develop enough pressure to move the slave push rod.