Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 54

Thread: Over drive

Discussions of Triumph motor cars

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    98
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Re: Over drive

    Quote Originally Posted by CJD View Post
    Here is a walkthrough an A overdrive, including testing at the end. Afraid photobucket is holding the pictures hostage again, but select them and they’ll link you to better versions.
    No pics?
    60 TR3A TS66043

  2. #22
    Darth Vader
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Macon Georgia
    Posts
    2,808
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    13
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    41 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    Getting the parts together for the OD install.

    David
    Overdrive fuse holder.jpg
    TR3A TS75524L

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Durham , England
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    Hi , in order lookng throught the swithch holes , from first to 4th , then reverse , dose this all look correct ?

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Durham , England
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    With pics

    1st ,2nd,3rd , 4th , reverse , first looks a little bit too far Forward ?

    My worry is the switches were removed and pluged , i removed the brass plug / only gunk no bits of metal
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #25
    Yoda CJD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Arlington, TX, USA
    Posts
    5,387
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    39
    Thanked in
    38 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    They look good to me. You use the copper washers to set the height of the switches so they engage as the gear is reached.
    John

    1955 TR2

  6. #26
    Great Pumpkin TR3driver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sunny So California
    Posts
    19,410
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    122
    Thanked in
    114 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    Note that the OD is only enabled in 2nd, 3rd & 4th. The reverse position is used for a reversing light (when fitted, not a common option from what I've seen), and I don't know of anything that is enabled in 1st gear.
    Randall
    56 TR3 TS13571L once and future daily driver
    71 Stag LE1473L waiting engine rebuild
    71-72-73 Stag LE2013LBW waiting OD gearbox rebuild

  7. #27
    Darth Vader
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Macon Georgia
    Posts
    2,808
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    13
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    41 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    How are the wires from the OD gearbox routed past the transmission cover to the relay?

    David
    TR3A TS75524L

  8. #28
    Jedi Hopeful ckeithjordan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Shawnee, KS
    Posts
    162
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    7
    Thanked in
    7 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    The wires exit the gearbox tunnel on the left side through a 1"-1.25" hole (with a grommet preferably), staying under the carpet to where the tunnel meets the firewall, and up to the relay and the OD switch.
    Keith

    1957 TR3 TS20447LO (2017-)
    1962 TR3B TCF1183L (1979-1982)
    1966 Spitfire MKII (1972-1975)

  9. #29
    Darth Vader
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Macon Georgia
    Posts
    2,808
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    13
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    41 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    Hello Keith

    Thank you.

    That is probable the hole I thought was for checking the oil level. I had it run through the fire wall where the main harness passes through.

    David
    TR3A TS75524L

  10. #30
    Jedi Trainee TRopic6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Irmo, SC
    Posts
    341
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    David, I happened to be in the garage - here is how it looks in my 59 TR3A. The first picture is from relay to the firewall, then under the carpet. Under the carpet it goes down & back to a hole in the Xmsm cover. Can't say if its factory though.P1110280.jpgP1110282.jpg

  11. #31
    Great Pumpkin TR3driver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sunny So California
    Posts
    19,410
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    122
    Thanked in
    114 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    FWIW, I didn't like the factory routing, so mine run up the firewall (on the engine side) and through one of the grommets there. (Which I think is what you're saying, but not certain.)
    Randall
    56 TR3 TS13571L once and future daily driver
    71 Stag LE1473L waiting engine rebuild
    71-72-73 Stag LE2013LBW waiting OD gearbox rebuild

  12. #32
    Jedi Trainee TRopic6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Irmo, SC
    Posts
    341
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    Yeah Randall, now that I look at it, that's a lot of wire to have under the carpet if the pull-up winding in the solenoid fails to drop out. 30 years ago such things weren't in my crosscheck. I did add a fuse for it though.

  13. #33
    Darth Vader
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Macon Georgia
    Posts
    2,808
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    13
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    41 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    I have also added fuses on both the OD coil and OD relay coil. The relay coil seems to be fine with a 5 amp fuse but I had to go to 15 amp for the solenoid coil. 5 and 10 amp fuses blew when I engaged the OD.

    I mounted the OD relay on the bracket that supports the heater.

    David
    TR3A TS75524L

  14. #34
    Jedi Trainee Graham H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Perth Western Australia
    Posts
    247
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    These photos show how I mounted the relay and where the wires go, when they come out of the tunnel cover they just sit on the floor under the carpet and run up the firewall

    GrahamP1010077.jpgIMG_1628.jpgP1010208.jpg
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  15. #35
    Darth Vader
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Macon Georgia
    Posts
    2,808
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    13
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    41 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    I ran the OD wire through the engine compartment and through hole where the main harness passes through. Looks like I have missed a rubber plug. The micro switch is my replacement brake light switch. The one contacts on the one from Auto Zone melted the plastic so the brake lights were on all the time.
    The relay is mounted above the heater support.

    I think my solenoid may not be switching to the lower setting. I am blowing a 15 amp fuse after a few minutes of engagement. Going to get an amp clamp to check the draw. Are the solenoid repairable?

    David
    OD wire 2.jpg
    OD relay.jpg
    TR3A TS75524L

  16. #36
    Great Pumpkin TR3driver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sunny So California
    Posts
    19,410
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    122
    Thanked in
    114 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidApp View Post

    I think my solenoid may not be switching to the lower setting. I am blowing a 15 amp fuse after a few minutes of engagement. Going to get an amp clamp to check the draw. Are the solenoid repairable?
    Maybe. Depends a lot on what's wrong, and how creative you are. Normally, there is a plastic pushrod that the plunger hits when it pulls home in the housing. The pushrod opens contacts under the end cap. If your existing pushrod is worn or melted, you may have to fabricate a replacement. AFAIK, no one sells anything but the complete solenoid.

    The good news is that they have gotten a lot cheaper. 25 years ago, they were over $100; last time I checked they were only about $30.
    Probably not the same quality, though.

    BTW, I believe even a regular 5 amp fuse should not blow. I've been running an 8 amp slow blow for many years, just because I had a lot of them on hand, and never blown a fuse.

  17. #37
    Darth Vader
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Macon Georgia
    Posts
    2,808
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    13
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    41 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    When I check the resistance with a meter I do not always get a change in resistance from un-operated to operated.

    I am noticing the solenoid getting warm. I presume the fact that I blow a 15 amp fuse implies no change over.

    Will get one on order before I mess with this one.

    David
    TR3A TS75524L

  18. #38
    Great Pumpkin TR3driver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sunny So California
    Posts
    19,410
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    8
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    122
    Thanked in
    114 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidApp View Post
    I presume the fact that I blow a 15 amp fuse implies no change over.
    Very likely. In fact, that's just the reason I added a fuse; my previous solenoid burned up after a bit of gravel got caught and kept the plunger from moving all the way. Using a small fuse means the fuse will blow if the contacts don't open; and perhaps save the solenoid.

    But the replacement solenoid was crimped together, and the crimp failed, so the fuse wasn't any help with that
    Randall
    56 TR3 TS13571L once and future daily driver
    71 Stag LE1473L waiting engine rebuild
    71-72-73 Stag LE2013LBW waiting OD gearbox rebuild

  19. #39
    Jedi Trainee Graham H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Perth Western Australia
    Posts
    247
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    6
    Thanked in
    6 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    That's what I did David, ordered a new one because it would not pull up on the first high amp circuit . When I took it apart I found a loose connection , resoldered it and it works fine. The relay should be mounted on the battery box, you have used one of the mounting holes for an earth wire?

    Graham
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  20. #40
    Darth Vader
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Macon Georgia
    Posts
    2,808
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    13
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    41 Posts

    Re: Over drive

    I have the diode that Randall showed in his drawing that goes between the Relay contacts and the pull in coil. That is the ground point you can see on the battery box in the center of the picture. Do I need a ground for the relay case?

    David
    TR3A TS75524L

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •