• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Need advice, Should I Wrap the Exhaust Pipes?

hmsevans

Freshman Member
Since I have removed my Exhaust pipes,I was thinking of wraping them with off the shelf High Temp Wrap to reduce the foot well heat
Does anybody have any advice and reccomendations on what type?
Also need to replace my Heat shields in the same area,What a good source from replacements?
Mark
Thanks again for all the Great advice.

hmsevans, i bought a full set from moss and its a good one, other outfits also sell them, im planning on making up additional section out of 1/4" "wonder board" in the area where my headers run under the foot well, sorry i have no experience with any type of "heat wrap", im sure others can help.

Country flag
I do not recommend wrapping your exhaust (assuming tubular headers) with an insulating wrap. A thermal barrier coating, applied inside and outside is a much better solution, and the headers will last A LOT longer.

The wrap may show immediate benefits, but it will soak up water (leading to rust) and will also fatigue the metal by subjecting it to intense heat that it cannot dissapate. Your wrapped pipes will live a much shorter life.

red57

Jedi Knight
Country flag