• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A How much is to much fretting?

GTP1960

Jedi Knight
Continuation from my Moss crank pulley problem.

the back of the crank shaft (undamaged) measured 28.53mm

the front, where the fretting is, measured 28.44mm

0.09mm shaved off.

I'm no engineer & don't have a feel for acceptable tolerances.
So I would appreciate your input.

i do know I'm going to try and find a better narrowbelt pulley solution to this problem though.

CJD

Yoda
Country flag
The answer is related to the inside diameter of the extension/hub you plan to put on it. Normally the OD of the crank should be .001 to .003" larger than the ID of the hub. You can get away with even sizes, though. The other issue with fretting is that it makes an irregular surface. In other words, when you measure the diameter, the mic is riding on the "highs" on the metal that were left as the old balancer rubbed back and forth. You get a larger than actual reading.

The best answer is that you need to try the new hub you plan to use on the crank. If it fits without being able to wobble it at an angle, then you should be alright. If you can easily slide it on the crank, and then grab the hub and rock it back and forth...then you have too much fretting to use the crank. If the hub is loose enough to rock after installation, then loctite is not going to fill in that much space.

martx-5

Yoda
Country flag
If the hub is loose enough to rock after installation, then loctite is not going to fill in that much space.