• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Houston, we have a problem...maybe[?] Opinions...

amcboy

Jedi Hopeful
OK, I've got the TR-6 on the lift at work to change its vital fluids and inspect/grease.

While fiddling about I discover that the left rear hub has a VERY minor bit of play...

If I wiggle the tire (in any direction) it feels like a "click-clearance", almost not noticeable. The RR has no play whatsoever...

I have no experience here. How long 'till I'm scoopin' up parts along the road.

Can a reasonably skilled mechanic (that's me) with a well equipped shop (that's work) rebuild the hub?

Anybody done this? I'm under the impression that its a black art to be undertaken right after spreading diff cases with your bare hands...

I drove it home and it seems fine on the road...

Details: 1971 TR-6 67,045 miles, PO replaced diff bushings and universals. I am a nervous owner...

Advice appreciated. Too poor to buy a TRF rebuild at this time... willing to attempt it on my own with Bentley manual in hand.

Thanks in advance.

jessebogan

Jedi Knight
Whew, that is tough. It is almost impossible to get the hub apart without the special tool. The flange is on a giant taper and really resists coming apart.Most attempts just result in bending the flange. Perhaps someone has developed an improved method for disassembly, but I at least am not aware of it.A little play is not unusual. Just monitor it, and save for a replacement.I met my lawyer 25 years ago because the local dealer had rebuilt the rear hubs on his TR6. They failed catastrophicly, two different times, with tire loss both times. Be Careful!!

Opa

Jedi Trainee