• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Exhaust header/manifold

Simon TR4a

Jedi Knight
I have been using a header for the last several years and have noticed it allows a lot of heat near the carbs and has also caused the insulation on the generator wires to get cracked. Finally, unlike a V8 header which has a large metal flange to which the tubes are welded, because the intake ports are on the same side of the head the ports don't line up well with the header tubes.
I have one of the rare 4a factory cast manifolds 4-2-1 style, which looks as if it would flow pretty well, and I am thinking of getting it coated and using it.
An old Road and Track article shows a moderate gain on a Spitfire from changing to a header, and my engine has other mods which I don't want to waste by bottling up the exhaust; has anyone seen or done any tests of the factory manifold against headers on a moderately tuned engine?
Opinions welcome, facts even more welcome!
Simon.

vettedog72

Jedi Knight
Simon:
There are insulating wraps that reduce the heat loss from the headers, keeping the heat inside and increasing the efficiency of the header. If you ask me for dyno’s, I have never seen one showing the before and after, much less any dyno’s specifically for a TR4. On the other hand I have seen and benefited from the insulating wrap keeping other surrounding header apparatuses from being effected by the heat. I know this does not address the miss alignment of the header and port; if a little grinding will not make things align up, it sounds like a significant defect. Who made the header?

gjh2007

Jedi Warrior
Country flag
Simon: