• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

A pillar replacement

Jim_Gruber

Yoda
Country flag
The DPO of Bugsy replaced the Outer Sills which are in good shape but did a Bondo Job on the A-Pillars on both side. Looks like I'm going to be able to pick up a cheap MIG Welder in the next few days and some metal work can commence on Bugsy my '68 Sprite. Being a total novice at welding is it possible to remove and replace the A-Pillars without removing the Outer Sills. From what I can see, looks like Outer Sill needs to come off to get access to the A-Pillar.

How about a good source for a Welding Plug Cutter.

jlaird

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
Sills are not part of it, the A post is only a skin if that is all that is rusted. Take a look at the Moss pics.

tony barnhill

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
Yep, Jack's correct - & I think I have an extra set on the shelf!

tony barnhill

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
Yep, bottom 7"...think I may have them also

jlaird

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
I used one of each but upon reflection I would only use the long/full length one as it dead ends under the windsheld post.

mccalebr

Jedi Knight
Jim, I replaced outer sills, "A" pillar/tapping plate, and "A" pillar skin on both the passenger side and driver's side of my '62 Sprite. All three units are separate; the skin can be replaced without replacing the sill or pillar. The sill can be replaced without replacing the pillar or skin. But, to replace the pillar/tapping pltes, you would replace the skin.

If it's just the skin that needs replacing, I'd do the whole skin rather than the lower patch panel.