• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Shut pillar placement bj8

George_Haywood

Freshman Member
Hi all,
I'm new to BCF but I have an old problem. How does one go about getting the shut pillar in the correct position on new sills, rockers, and inner quarter panels? I'm concerned with getting the proper door gaps. I hope you know what I mean. The car is a '65 bj8. Thanks in advance for your help.

George

Dave Richards

Jedi Knight
Country flag
Hi George and welcome to the forum. I suggest you start by doing a search of previous posts as this subject has been discussed many times. Additionally, many who have completed this task will come along and explain their experiences.

stinky60

Jedi Hopeful
Country flag
George,take your time, I am just now finishing a door shut panel on my passenger side, even though I am working on a60 BT7,make sure your shrouds are on and inthe correct position,clamped down.fasten the front wings(fenders),fasten rear wings,position your rocker.do not weld in yet.fasten the the door,I realize each car can be different,in what you are doing.I did forget the shut panel,if you can slide it behind the rear fender clamp it down.go from there line up body lines.each step takes alot of patience and time,somebody here on the forum might have better ideas on what to do. Roger Moment, has an ongoing series of articles restoring these cars,in the AH,club USA, magazine, good luck and take your time you can do it.
Bob /bcforum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/banana.gif

OP
G

George_Haywood

Freshman Member