• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

POR-15 is BAD use Zero-Rust instead

Hillbilly

I just want to let you guys who are in-process of restorations that there is a better alternative to using "poor-15" aka POR-15
I have been restoring classic autos since 1976 34 going on 35 years now. I have done many cars which have appeared in national magazines and taken home numerous trophies (FIRST PLACE and BEST of SHOW)
por15 even when used according to the manufacturer's instrustions will end up one of two things....or both...
It will either come off in sheets, or the treated area will rust either way ,
all the time money and effort will end up on the ground in tiny bits and pieces of rust and oxidation.
I know this from personal-first hand experience.
I have lost many man hours of labor and suffered having to redo a job at great expense.
I have found a superior alternative to using p0r 15 ...
It is called ZERO-RUST .(Made and sold by MFG sealants)
I am not a salesman, nor a distributor of this product.
I am merely trying to save another person the pain of experiencing what I have gone through. I cringe when ever I hear of someone using por15. GreenCo.SpeedShop.

M_Pied_Lourd

Darth Vader
Country flag
Well, I have the opposite experience with POR 15 and have used it on a couple of TR restorations now. I won't hesitate to use it on my next project either.

Not wanting to argue, just wanted to share my "personal" experience.

No financial interest, blah blah blah.

Cheers,
M. Pied Lourd

Brosky

Great Pumpkin
I'm hoping that mine does not act as yours did.

But all of mine was applied to stripped areas and treated with their metal prep before the POR15 was applied.

JodyFKerr