• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A New TR3 restoration Project

Evincirei

Freshman Member
Hello, everyone I've recently begun work on restoring my TR3 and am a complete beginner at this. Does anyone have any advice on where to get started? Is there a manual available that shows how to work on these cars? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Country flag
Best advice I can give you is have a good camera. Take plenty of pictures and store them on the computer. Buy a workshop manual and don't be bashful about asking questions here on the forum. There are a lot of knowledgeable folks ready and willing to help. And welcome to BCF!

Marv

Tr3aguy

Jedi Knight
Country flag
What state is the car currently in? It will make a difference on what you are trying to do with it as well, restoring to a driver , rolling repairs, or a complete frame off restoration....

This is a good start How to restore a triumph

Check my link and see a total basket case...

Welcome to the forum.

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
While buying a paper manual is still a good idea, you can download a copy of the factory workshop manual here:
https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B2H2NJt34OffYWZiN2VlZGMtNTkxMi00NGUzLWE4NzMtMGRkODRkYzU3MDU1
This was originally written for the TR2, there is an appendix in the back that describes some of the differences for the (early) TR3. But AFAIK they never updated it for the later changes, including the introduction of the "wide mouth" TR3A, the body re-tooling at TS60000, the TR3B, etc.

A copy of the appropriate (to your car) owner's manual is a good thing to have as well. Here's the 6th edition, which is for cars after commission number TS60000.