• Hey Guest!
    Yoda says: A FREE resource for the Little British Car community BCF is. Support us with an account upgrade, not many will (less than 1%) "Require" you to pay to play we don't, but if you find BCF helpful, appreciate no pop up ads, and want to ensure we stay online - Supporting us with an "optional" low-cost member upgrade you should. There are some benefits to upgrading!
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Seeing this UGLY banner, you won't)
Tips
Tips

Insurance on LBC's

Bster

Freshman Member
Hello All,

I am new to the world of LBC ownership and wonder if anyone can tell me a good source for insurance on a 1978 MGB. All of the classic car insurance I have found require the car to be garage kept (I unfortunately do not have one) and driven less than between 3,000 and 1,000 miles a year (a real crime for a car that is supposed to be driven IMHO). But on the other hand this car is not a daily driver, so won't get the wear and tear of a normal vehicle.

Another obstacle for me is that this car is in New Jersey, a horrible state for any car insurance. Are there any middle of the road insurance possibilities for pleasure cars or "classic" insurers with looser restrictions?

Thanks for any help.

Hagerty.

We have our B insured through them, it's $85 a year, based on value of the vehicle, no deductible. I have no limitations on mileage, however, I don't intend to put 15,000 a year on it either.

Call your auto insurance agent, ask them to get you a quote through Hagerty.

If you have 'antique' or 'historic' plates on it, the rates may be even cheaper, I'm not sure how that works.

Hagerty requires a garage. I have my Mini with Hagerty.

I have been told that State Farm offers some form of "agreed value" coverage suitable for collector cars and that they have more flexible limits on use and storage. I have no personal experience with them but suggest you contact them if a garage is not an option for you.