• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Engine Removal Strategy?

Stick

Freshman Member
I am ready to pull the engine in my Bugeye, or at least I think I am. This is my first time pulling a motor out of anything bigger than a motorcycle. I have all the lines disconnected from the motor and transmission leaving only the drive shaft and mounting points connected to anything.

I have three primary questions:
1. Do I pull the engine and transmission out as a unit (I would rather do this if possible)
2. Where should I attach and with what to hoist the engine? I have borrowed a lift but will probably need to buy the linkage to connect the motor the the lift arm and don't know where to start. If you are able to go into detail here, great! But be sure to specify if you are giving instructions based on lifting the motor only or the motor and trans as a unit.
3. How the heck do I disconnect the Transmission from the drive shaft? Looking up at the front U Joint I don't really see any disconnect there without dis assembling the U joint and I'd really rather not do that, plus I don't think you can access that place on most cars. Do I just disconnect the drive shaft from the differential and pull it out of the transmission maybe?