• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

high octane?

Gel

Hi,
I'm sure this has been discussed to death but all I require is a "yes" or "no"
Should I use high octane fuel??

OP
G

Gel

Okay, I was afraid of that.
I'm a beginner! I know nothing about compression ratios. All I can confirm is that it's a Jan. '73 car

Rob_Edwards

Jedi Hopeful
You should run the lowest octane that runs properly in YOUR car. For some people that may be low octane, for some it might be the highest. This late in the game, every car is different -- different amounts of wear, different states of tune, etc.

Many people believe that because high-power engines run high octane, high octane therefore makes high power. It's a myth. Octane (or more properly "octane equivalency rating" or "octane rating" is simply the resistance of the fuel to being ignited -- higher octane fuel is harder to burn. It actually contains fewer BTUs by volume than lower octane fuel, but the difference is probably negligible. In theory though you'll get slightly less power and fuel economy with a higher octane fuel than you need (other things equal).

So try some midgrade -- if that works without pinking and running on, use it. You could even try some low octane if you wish. If it works, use that. Using higher octane than you need does nothing but wastes your money....

HTH!

Steve_S

Yoda