• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

voltage regulator

sp53

Yoda
Country flag
When I started my tr3 yesterday, the generator light stayed on and the amp meter oscillated/went from charge to no charge, and I shut it off after a couple of minutes. When I open the hood, I heard a click sound like the regulator points had let go. So I started it back up and the light was off, but the amp meter was still kinda freaking out. Then after maybe a couple of minutes, everything went back to normal. So before I went to work this morning, I took a piece of fine emery paper and gently cleaned the floating contacts in the regulator. In all my years of driving tr3’s, I have never done that before. Please tell me that everything is going to be alright.

Geo Hahn

Yoda
Country flag
Okay... "everything is going to be alright".

Actually my control box was acting up -- in my case the points sticking and the light coming on and staying on after the engine was shut down. Cleaned it up a bit and adjusted it a teensy bit and the problem has not recurred.

NickMorgan

Jedi Knight
I am sure it should be OK. Possibly the output from the dynamo is a bit low. You should really have used a bit of card to clean up the contacts. I suspect that it was just the car's way of telling you that it is not getting out enough!

Stig

Mine's internal.

Attachments

• 11487.jpg
    11487.jpg
    33 KB · Views: 301
OP
S

sp53

Yoda
Country flag