• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR4/4A TR4A Won't Start

KVH

Darth Vader
Country flag
I'm still an amateur.

Car has been sitting for 7 months while I worked on the rear end.

Tried to start it, and it either is getting no gas or has no spark.

It seems to be getting gas.

When I disconnect a plug wire and hit the starter, I'm not seeing any spark. I put a screwdriver in there, and still no spark.

How can this be?

I'm getting hot to the + side of the coil, and negative to the other. I cleaned the pin in the Distributor Cap, and the ground inside the Distributor is in good shape.

Is my coil dead? It's one year old. Any easy way to check?

Anyway, that's my question and where I am. Thanks for any ideas.

D

Deleted member 8987

Points corroded?
point gap closed up?
Condenser okay?
Wire to points broken?

D

Deleted member 8987

You want I should walk you through it?
I can...so can others.
Not hard.

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
What he said.

Two things I'd check first is whether you have 12v across the coil with the points closed (key on of course), 0v with the points open; and whether you have spark when you test directly on top of the coil.

Ok, maybe that's 3 things
grin.gif

OP
KVH

KVH

Darth Vader
Country flag
OKAY: I've got zero volts with the points open, and 11.1 volts with the points closed.

Putting the leads straight to the battery shows 12.6 volts.

I didn't check spark in the middle of the coil yet.

glemon

Yoda
Country flag
Check the stupid human tricks first, I have done it, maybe others too, did you forget to put the rotor back in?