• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

General MG Lifter break-in

SwamperCa

When replacing lifters with new ones is there a need to use a break in oil. The new lifters where coated with a cam assembly lube on the surface which contacts the cam lobe. I run Valvoline 20-50 oil, VR1.

Boggsy64

Jedi Hopeful
I am no expert and am rebuilding my engine now. The "Dr. Doolin" DVD on rebuilding the engine only says to generously lube all the parts at assembly. I would think a good oil would be sufficient.

OP
SwamperCa

SwamperCa

I think so too. I ask as I just watched a TV show where a newly rebuilt motor went bad because they didn't use break in oil.

LarryK

Yoda
Gold
Country flag
If have not rebuilt entire engine, good oil with cam lube is all that is necessary. Reason for break-in oil is to seat rings faster and protect new cam, and crankshaft bearings. Engines rebuilt today by reliable machine shops, build to a closer tolerance than the did years back. When firing up new rebuilds they are run at 2500rpm to 3000rpm for 20-30mins. then break-in oil is dropped and fresh oil added then engine is ready for the street.

Boggsy64

Jedi Hopeful
I think I know what Swamper is talking about. I recently saw an episode of "Fast and Loud". They had a newly rebuilt Mustang Cobra engine that failed immediately. They blamed the failure of the cam on "not using break in oil". I thought this was a bit of a stretch and more likely something else was wrong. I thought "break in oil" was like going the store for a can of compression!!:excitement:

OP
SwamperCa

SwamperCa