• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

How Important is a Header?

bravenrace

Jedi Hopeful
Country flag
I'm kind of new to this engine (2.5l in a TVR 2500M). I'm looking to raise the power level on this engine, and am wondering what the benefit, if any, a header has over the factory manifold. Just to be clear, I fully understand the benefits of headers in general, I'm asking about on this particular engine. My other mods would benefit from improved exhaust flow, but is the header enough of an improvement? Seems like I remember someone saying that the factory manifold is pretty good already, but I'm not sure if I'm remembering that correctly.

Brosky

Great Pumpkin
I believed that it helped my TR6 quite a bit, but I also improved carbs and ignition at the same time. My headers are also JetHot coated on the inside as well as the outside and run cooler than a stock manifold.

OP
bravenrace

bravenrace

Jedi Hopeful
Country flag
Thanks for the reply - I was starting to wonder if no one here ever put a header on a Triumph before!
Still, I can't believe there aren't more people that could chime in on this. Anyone?

kodanja

Obi Wan
Country flag
I put a header on my 71' Tr6
seems to increase the hp a bit, and makes such a pretty sound too!

G