• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Zenith 175 CD's

Aeroweld3033

Anybody have just the basic adjustment settings for these? im new to carb tuning ( although my father has all the special tuning tools for these) . Everthings all cleaned up with new seals and o-rings but somethings still not right. Front carb seems to be dry and the rear carb is pouring fuel all over the place ( out the air filter). this is all on a non-starting TR7. any basic help would be apprectated

poolboy

Yoda
Country flag
Both those conditions likely have root cause in the float chambers.
If fuel is overflowing, then the fuel supply is not being cut off when the proper level is attained. A problem with the needle valve which when the floats rise with the fuel level should cut off the fuel until the level drops a bit, would be my guess. Possible too that the floats have lost buoyancy due to a leak, but not as likely as a sticky needle valve.
Same for the other dry carb, only that needle valve stuck in the closed rather than partially open position.
Just a guess but that what it sounds like to me.

You'll want this. Basic adjustments after refurbishing are within:
https://www.buckeyetriumphs.org/technical/Carbs/CarbsI/CarbsI.htm

OP
A

Aeroweld3033

Thank you very much i guess itll all come apart again to check everything. as for your link, seems to be beyond helpful, printing it right now and heading back out to the garage!

George_H

Jedi Warrior
Country flag
Sounds all too similar, My first wedge had both clips for the float hinge rusted off completly. Lots of water in the tank as well. Hope yours is in better shape.

OP
A

Aeroweld3033