• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A TR3B Engine Oil

Vaark01

Jedi Trainee
Country flag
I have been using Collectors Choice engine oil in my TR3B for many years. I get it from Moss and it is 20w50.

A friend told me I should use 10w40 during the winter months.

I would appreciate your thoughts on this.

Thanks.

Paul

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
What does the oil pressure do when you first start the engine on a cold morning? How about at hot idle?

As long as the pressure doesn't go significantly above 70 psi cold, then the oil isn't too thick IMO. In that case, using 10W40 might save a small amount of fuel, but I wouldn't want to let the hot idle pressure drop too low.

Andrew Mace

Staff member
Country flag
In Northeast (upstate NY) winters, I found with my Herald that switching from 20W-50 to 10W-40 in the winter was the difference between the car starting on a 5-10 degree morning vs. waiting until the temperature rose to 20-25! The car has an oil pressure gauge, and the idle pressure wasn't significantly lower.

angelfj1

Yoda
Country flag
Vaark01 said:
I have been using Collectors Choice engine oil in my TR3B for many years. I get it from Moss and it is 20w50.

A friend told me I should use 10w40 during the winter months.

I would appreciate your thoughts on this.

Thanks.

Paul

Paul: I don't know the history of your car/engine, but after the TR3A engine was broken-in, we switched from the break-in oil to <span style="font-weight: bold">Mobil1 15W-50</span>, a full synthetic which has one of the highest levels of ZDDP available. It's a bit pricey by the quart, but I found it at wally mart for $24/5 qt jug.