• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A TR3 A tranny questions.

Lukens

Jedi Warrior
Hi guys,

My TR3 is starting to give me a "notchy" feel when shifting from 1st to 2nd. If I shift slow and deliberate, no problem... smooth as silk.
If I shift through "spirited" acceleration, I can feel and hear a slight growl during engagement.
1) Am I looking at imminent failure"
2) Although I've never opened this or any other transmission, I assume the synchro(s) need replaced?
3) I'm a decent mechanic. Can I handle this repair without any special tools or equipment... pullers or press?

TIA

Russ

CJD

Yoda
Country flag
That sounds like a good diagnoses.

The growl is the teeth on the steel part of the synchro rubbing, since the brass ring no longer "synchronizes" the gear speeds during the shift. New, the teeth start very pointed, but as they rub from a worn synchro, the nose of the teeth become rounded, and finally flat. Best to fix it soon, or the second gear and outer synchro ring will wear out. Worn teeth give you that symptom that I am sure you have noticed on old cars where the tranny sometimes will not shift into gear, but "sticks", until you shift into and out of another gear to realign the teeth.

One thing to check, though, before tearing down the gearbox, is that the clutch is fully releasing. Fairly easy to check...push the clutch in, shift into any gear, and then shift back out. Wait several seconds (clutch still depressed) and shift into 1st. Since there is no synchro on 1st gear, you will get a grind if the clutch is not releasing fully. If you get no grind, then the clutch is doing its job and it's time to start planning that synchro rebuild!?!