• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A Timing TR3A and Overheating

David_Reaka

Freshman Member
I am new to the BCF. I have recently installed the Pertronix Flame Thrower Electronic Distributor and coil to my '59 TR3A. My query relates to the Static timing. According to an article by Ken Gillanders, static timing was the more accurate option than strobe (with the original distributor). Furthermore, he suggests 8deg advance rather than the 4deg factory suggestion. When I first installed the new electronic version last summer, I noticed the engine ran better at the 8deg (strobe used). I have the car running but would prefer to know the timing is correct. How does one perform a static timing check with the electronic distributor? I have "overheating" and want to eliminate all possible causes. In dealing with the overheating, I have recently installed the upgraded water pump (Moss) as well as the original bellows thermostat. Radiator is OK and flushed the system with Prestone product 4 times!! I have also replaced all the hoses and the connecting pipe. I have not checked the accuracy of the temperature sender unit nor the temperature gauge's accuracy. BTW car was overheating before any of the above work. I am awaiting a reply from "Pertronix"...Any comments will be greatly appreciated. Thank you, David

BRSLimited

Jedi Trainee