• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Post-War Other Brosky, can you rebuild the TRF Italian fuel pump?

TR6BILL

Luke Skywalker
I have a new Italian fuel pump in my car from TRF, replacing the <span style="font-weight: bold">other</span> Italian fuel pump from TRF. I took the first one apart and found that the screen inside was made of nylon and had collapsed completely inside the housing. Assuming I get the good rebuild kit that you talk about, the two valves inside are held down by 6 little indents in the aluminum holding them in. I can surgically cut these back (remember what I do for a living...mouth mechanic) these little dent ledges enough to pop the valves out. When the new ones go in (assuming they do), seems I will have to lay in some new "dent tabs" to hold them in. Correct? What say you? Also thinking of replacing the 6 outer bolts with hex head bolts for ease of insertion. The Italians bent the heads pretty good inserting them at the factory. They may have farmed these out to somewhere in the Far East.

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
TR6BILL said:
When the new ones go in (assuming they do), seems I will have to lay in some new "dent tabs" to hold them in. Correct? What say you?
That is the 'standard' method. I have two alternatives to offer:

1) Leave the old valves alone. They almost never cause problems or wear out.

2) Drill & tap the pump to accept a retainer for the valves, as the better pumps have. ISTR the TR3 rebuild kit I got from TRF had a new retainer in it, but if your TR6 kit doesn't then you will need to fabricate something or find another pump to rob one from.

poolboy

Yoda
Country flag
Filter.jpg