• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

oddball chemical question

T

Tinster

Locktite blue tube.

Anyone know how to get it off my polycarbonate
prescription glasses?

I wiped it off with a cloth but it left a smear
residue. Or did it etch the polycarbonate?

I tried windex with no results. I'm afraid to experiment
with my nasty chemicals.

Anyone know? /bcforum/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/blush.gif

thanks,

d

martx-5

Yoda
Country flag
One of the reasons I insist on GLASS glasses!

I've been wearing glasses for 52 years. I had one pair that had plastic lenses. Never again. Within two months, I could hardly see out of them. GLASS you can clean with anything short of sandpaper.

Sorry I can't help you out Dale, but this doesn't look good...no pun intended.

DrEntropy

Great Pumpkin
Platinum
Country flag
I don't even want to GUESS just how it got there... but I think it likely there's a new set of cheaters in your near future. That stuff is made to stick to things. It likely wouldn't melt or dissolve polycarbonate, but if they're surface coated with anti-scratch or some other non-glare type coating it may have attacked that. Best to check with the outfit who cut the lenses.

rlandrum

Jedi Trainee
A bit of google sluthing and I found:

--Old info from LOCTITE CORP:
In regards to your letter about the blue Loctite Threadlocker 242, these
products are anaerobic, including threadlockers, pipe sealants and
retaining compounds. Anaerobics will stress crack and attack most
plastics, for the proper adhesive selections we offer a technical
information service at 1-800-562-8483 option #1.

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P