• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Introduction and a couple Triumph questions

MedicMan55

Freshman Member
Hello all, you probably didnt recognise my name, well because im new! I am just starting out in the world of LBCs, because i have an addiction. I have bought a couple cars over the years, and i still cant get Triumphs out of my head. They just look so cool!
I've been told by my friends that buying an LBC would be a bad idea because of their poor construction, is this true? Are they really badly put together cars? also, im a pretty big guy. I am around 6'1", will i have a problem with getting into these cars?
Medic

kindofblue

Jedi Warrior
They are not Japanese cars by any stretch. They weren't all that reliable in their day. Over the years, Unknowing mechanics and owners have hacked cars into various states of odd repair.
That being said, They are very easy and satisfying to work on. I would recommend joining your local club first and having a member look over any car before purchase. It is very important with any Triumph to look UNDER it for rust in the frame areas. Check out the buying guides at the Vintage Triumph Registry www.vtr.org.
Many of the "problems" that caused them to be labeled "unreliable" in their time have been solved over time. You can get many answers to problems here and through your club. (as well as updated parts through Moss, The Roadster Factory, and Victoria British). They aren't easy, but they are satisfying.

waltesefalcon

Yoda
Silver
Country flag