• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

go ahead & laugh

69tr

Jedi Trainee
I am kinda new to the LBC family. I owned a Midget and a Spitfire in my early days. I am currently working on a 69 TR6.

Just for my information what is the difference between the MGTF, TC, & TD? Is it just a designation to identify the year model? When you guys finish laughing at my ignorance, let me know. I have always thought these were some of the coolest cars built. When I recover from my "6" rebuild, I might look at one of these cars for another money recepticle.

Thanks, Pete

A

aerog

They're different cars, not just the years. The more knowledgeable types can no doubt list a myriad of differences, but casually looking at them the TCs use narrow tall wire wheels, the TDs used stamped steel wheels and were a little lower looking. The TFs were completely different with fared-in headlamps. The TC/TDs had an engine cover that opened along the top and sides, the TF just hinged at the top.

Steve_S

Yoda
Re: go ahead & laugh

The TC is a carry over from pre-war designs. It was the replacement for the TB which was short lived just before WWII. There were upgrades made in the suspension and engine but the design was still a bit antiquated.