• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

77 Corvette...Frame issues

R6MGS

Yoda
I posted this on the Corvette forum, but I always like to give the ole BCF a shot:

I am looking at a 77 right now; the oringinal owner was told that the car has frame issues....I am no expert and I am not sure how bad it really is. The owner gave me some pics, and although he missed some of the key areas this gives a general idea of the condition of the frame. The rest of the car is very good oringal paint, full documentation....I'd appreciate your opinions on how bad this really is, and how much it will take to get it repaired.

CorvetteFrams4.jpg

Corvetteframe1.jpg

CorvetteFrame3.jpg

CorvetteFrame2.jpg

I see a lot of surface rust with some heavy scaling on some pieces, but it could be just that - surface rust. How's the fiberglass?

OP
R6MGS

R6MGS

Yoda
Fiberglass is beautiful...With a little rubbing compound it will look brand new on the outside.
The Corvette guys tell me it's pretty bad...Most noticable in those pics is the inner rocker sill...In pic #2 you can see it's pretty rotted behind that aluminium plate.
Also these cars have a 'birdcage' around windsheild frame and cockpit...Usually if the frame is bad then that is rotted too.....i am just trying to find out how much it would cost to get the frame replaced as I can probably get the car pretty cheap.

If everything else is up to snuff, and you're willing to do a frame replacement... Might be "the one" for you.

Bob Claffie

Jedi Knight
Country flag