• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

TR2/3/3A Lock Help...you out there JP?

CJD

Yoda
Country flag
So, I've moved across the dash to the ignition switch. And, it's impossible to work on that without resolving all the locks on the TR2. I have the complete locks from 2 cars, and no keys. Since the stainless face of all the lock cylinders are a bit dented and scratched, I decided to order a set of locks from Moss.

They showed up last week...

All three, including the ignition, glove box and boot, all had different keys. I expected that. What I did not expect is that the keys are not standard Triumph, but rather MG style cylinders. A minor setback. I studied the old locks, and after some careful tapping and polishing, I've got the original lock cylinders looking as good as new. I wanted all to know, first of all, that original style lock cylinders are no longer available from Moss.

I am now in the position of keying the old locks, since I have no keys. I bought the key FA blanks, so it's time for some tumbler work.

First question I have is for the old heads. That is, which key is supposed to work on which lock? IAW, is the ignition supposed to be on 1 key, and the boot and glove box together on another key? Or is there some other combination they used from the factory?