• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Upgraded Rear Axle Advice for '59 BE - Question

Bruce_B

Jedi Warrior
This summer I'll be putting in a 1275 engine, a Datsun 5 speed transmission and a 3.9 Diff into my Bugeye.

I'm concerned with breaking rear axles - though luckily I've never done it before. But as long as I'm replacing the diff it would probably be a good time to upgrade the axles.

I've got the standard rear drum setup now. Questions is who makes an upgraded axle that's just a swap with the existing ones? I've read about needing double bearings with some axles...but maybe that's just for wire wheels. I've got non-wires.

Thanks....

jlaird

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
Heh heh. Bruce plans on going raceing. Rear axles break from age and agressive use. Otherwise they are preaty tough for street use.

Moss has tough ones, I supose they all come from the same place though. They are identical but for special steel I understand.

JP_Furble

Bruce,

That's exactly the set up I run in my BE, and unless you are planning on smoking...er chirping the tires on a regular basis you should have no problems.

JPF

OP
Bruce_B

Bruce_B

Jedi Warrior
Jack,

Me....break the law. Just remember the posted speed limits are only the suggested minimums!

I'll take a look at the Moss axles. Thanks for the info.