• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Tire Pressures

TRcheologist

I have a question regarding tire pressures with tubed tires. I'm new to wire wheels and tubes, having run tubeless radial tires on steel wheels for many years. I've always run between 40-42 psi on the tubeless tires. Can I run comparable pressures on tubed tires, or are lower pressures recommended?

Thanks

TR3driver

Great Pumpkin - R.I.P
You shouldn't need to change pressures because of the tubes; but 40-42 (cold) seems kind of high to me. I certainly would not exceed the pressure given on the sidewall of the tires.

swift6

Yoda
MAX PSI sidewall ratings should only be used as a "do not exceed" pressure. Tires are designed to be used on multiple vehicles that would all have varied recommended tire pressures. Use your owners manual to determine the correct tire pressure for your car, not the sidewall (just don't exceed the sidewall rating and chances are you won't be close to it anyway). Most modern radials like a few more psi than what your manual would typically call for though. But only a couple of psi.