• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

bypass vs no bypass

abe

Freshman Member
Hey all,

I tried searching all over for a simple answer to a stupid question. First of all as you can see in my profile, i'm a 26 year old novice trying to rebuild a bugeye.

I saw that moss sells a stock probably rebuilt water pump that has a bypass hose inlet. I also saw that spritemania has a no bypass pump. My engine currently has a stock cylinder head with a bypass outlet to the water pump. the outlet is deteriorated and will need to be fixed. the questions are, do i need a bypass? what is better, bypass or no bypass? If no bypass, is there a way to plug the outlet from the cylinder head? If yes bypass, is there a way to repair the damaged outlet?

I would really appreciate some simple direction.

Thanks

Abe, Pomona,CA

Glen_B

Jedi Trainee
The bypass is certainly helpful if your thermostat sticks. The fitting in the cylinder head was threaded in, and subsequently corroded into place for all time. It can be replaced by a good machine shop. They cut away the jagged remains, use a correct sized drill bit to remove most of the corroded threads and re-tap the threads in the head before replacing the fitting. Finding a relacement fitting can be fun.

Glen Byrns

dklawson

Yoda
Hap Waldrop answered a thread during the past month or so about how to remove the bypass nipple from a cylinder head. See:
https://www.britishcarforum.com/bcforum/u...6768#Post396768

I've always thought you should keep what was on the car as built (if possible and not a safety issue). Were it me, I'd buy the pump with the bypass connection and I'd repair the cylinder head to use it.