• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Whats your opinion?

BOBBYR

Jedi Trainee
Country flag
Hi Guys
As some of you might know,I am a mechanic for UPS.Being I am getting close to retirement,I've thinking of going into buisness on my own.Here's my idea.
What would you think of a car storage facility,that includes a large garage or shop, on property,so that people could work on their cars with their friends? Also I was thinking of a meeting hall,so car clubs could hold monthly or weekly meetings.
This is just an idea I've been kicking around for a while and I would like to get your opinion. Have a great day.
Bobby R

bighly

Jedi Knight
One word or concern

Insurance

JodyFKerr

Jedi Knight
Bobby,

My friends and I have tossed around a similar idea. Also, I've heard of similar (but perhaps not as extensive) places in the past.

The big item that you'd need to deal with is not actually the space, equipment or the like. It's all the legal malarky. There's concerns about liability issues. Now, I'll readily admit that I'm no lawyer, so I won't give direct legal advice. If you're interested in something like that I would definitely find a small business / corporate type lawyer and ask them about it.

From a self-protection stand point (business-wise) you'll also want to ensure that you start it up as a company (LLC at an absolute minimum). If you run something like this as a sole-proprietorship then you are personally liable for anything that occurs.

Good luck!