• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

valves clicking...i think - need advice

wifegonnakillme

Jedi Hopeful
I've only done short trips with my tr3 thus far, but this morning i had her out running for a good two hours...then i started hearing some clicking coming from the top of the engine...I think its the valves but I have to qualify that by saying that i am no mechanic. Anyway i got home and stuck my head in the bay and it sounds like it is coming from above the head...oil is fine and i've been running 91 octane through the last maybe 300 miles since it came out of mothballs this spring.
so what do you guys think? valves? if so, is there something a novice can do to fix or should i leave it to professionals - i am taking it in on Wednesday anyway to have the carbs rebuilt - i could potentially add it to the list, but i would at some point like to build up my own skills...advice would be apprciated,

thanks,
Kerry
/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/canpatriot.GIF

tdskip

Yoda
Country flag
Hi Kerry!

Is she otherwise acting up? Is she running any differently than before?

As a general rule you want to have everything else 'right' before you tune the carbs once they are back from being rebuilt. That includes making sure the ignition system is healthy and the valves are adjusted.

Do you have a good manual for your car?

OP
W

wifegonnakillme

Jedi Hopeful