• The Roadster Factory Recovery Fund - Friends, as you may have heard, The Roadster Factory, a respected British Car Parts business in PA, suffered a total loss in a fire on Christmas Day. Read about it, discuss or ask questions >> HERE. The Triumph Register of America is sponsoring a fund raiser to help TRF get back on their feet. If you can help, vist >> their GoFundMe page.
  • Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Damper servicing

Joelb

Jedi Hopeful
Ok guys, I have a simple servicing question. What hole does the oil go in on the dampers?

OP
J

Joelb

Jedi Hopeful
PS
Can anyone recommend a good service manual? I bought a Haynes, but it doesn't talk much about basic service. I'm new to the hobby and I'm sure will have many more dumb questions.

DrEntropy

Great Pumpkin
Platinum
Country flag
Bentley Service Manual.

It's a direct duplicate of the factory book.

Steve_S

Yoda
They fill from the very top. Clean around the bolt on the top of the unit and then remove it. Put clean oil in this hole but do not fill it to the top. Notice the bolt that comes out has an extra length of metal on it. This is basically a dipstick. Fill until the end of this area gets wet when tightened into the shock. You want a small air pocket at the top to allow for expansion. Without it, the oil will heat and expand, and then be forced out places it shouldn't be. Use 20-weight motorcycle fork oil or you can order oil specifically marketed for Armstrong shocks from Moss Motors.

DrEntropy

Great Pumpkin
Platinum
Country flag
Dampers? "Shock Dampers"?

Drugstore "minreal oil" or the motorcycle fork oil SteveS recommends.

OP
J

Joelb

Jedi Hopeful